Looking Forward to Death

Heaven is a place on earth

Image by alles-schlumpf via Flickr

Today, on the day of my birth, I am reflecting on my anticipation of death. I look forward to death. Though, it may be painful, the joy of putting off this body will be more worth it than is imaginable.

Now, I am limited in my sight of Jesus. I can see Him through my brothers and sisters in Christ. I can see Him through the Holy Spirit, who declares His greatness and riches. I can see Him through the testimony of those who physically saw Him. I can see Him by faith.

Someday, I will see His fullness. On that day, the joy in my heart will be complete. I will be at home with Christ. No more pain, no more sorrow. I will spend all eternity in utter bliss, reflecting the image of my Creator and my Lover, with my brothers and sisters in Christ. What love there will be on earth! All of our deepest needs and desires will be met in our Beloved. He will enjoy us and we will enjoy Him. There will be such a holy passion among us, that we cannot yet understand it.

In this life, we get just a mere taste of the life to come. We are still hungry and thirsty for righteousness. We are still hungry and thirsty for Jesus. Though we taste our Lord now, and He satisfies us. Someday, we shall feast on Him, and know His fullness.

I feel sorrow for the sadness, that my death will cause in those who love me. But, I am convinced that the One who has comforted me, will comfort them in my absence. It is better that I am removed from anyone who relies on me for anything, so that they may utterly rely on our dear Father. I don’t think that my death will be soon (by earthly standards), for God has much work to do in me still.

Posted on August 26, 2010, in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

