I Live Two Lives

Life T-Shirt

Image by Bob.Fornal via Flickr

When someone asks me “how are you doing”, I am not sure how to answer. I have two responses: How I am feeling naturally and how I am in Christ. My response will be one of the two depending on the person asking the question or I might decide on the middle ground. For example, if I have joy because I am in Christ, but I am depressed because of my natural circumstances, I might answer the question with “I am alright”. If someone asks me about my week, I might answer “wonderful”, even though it was mundane. This is because, even though I did the same things that I do every week, I experienced Christ as my joy. He made my week wonderful. I might answer another person asking the same question with, “my week was good”. This is because I know that the person has no care for Christ or explaining my experience in Christ would confuse them. I often feel as if I am living double lives. One life is ordinary and bland, the other gets more and more exciting every day.

Which answer is correct? Both are correct to me. I don’t feel as if either is lying. Although, it is often difficult to decide which answer to give. I would appreciate any opinions.

Posted on May 25, 2011, in Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Yea, same here. Or sometimes I could be going through I dry season spiritually but natural things went well, I just tell non-believers “good” but my brothers and sisters I’ll say, “Well, it’s been a rough one…”.

    I like this post, it’s a good one.

  2. Thanks Michael, its nice to hear that I’m not alone 🙂

  3. why not be upfront no matter who it is, how do we know the other person doesn’t know the Lord? (just a thought) By the way, if Christ is our life then our focus is on loving one another, no matter who they are, being real to someone can be an opportunity to build a relationship and express Christ’s love in meaningful ways. I’m thinking that putting off the flesh is to no longer focus on it, it’s dead, Jesus “nailed it to the cross,” moving forward keeping our thoughts on “whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, let your mind dwell on these things.” It is the “craftinesses of the devil” that keeps us focused on people or our flesh as the conflict. Some things I’ve been learning these past couple years or so living out from under the institutional church. Just some thoughts bro, hope it helps, blessings.

    • Thank you for your thoughts. I’m not really sure what it has to do with the flesh. Both of the my feelings are genuine. I live two lives because I have joy in Christ even during a depressing week. Or, I might feel spiritually dry during a good week. I am real in both of my answers, but I have difficulty deciding which answer to give to people. Maybe I didn’t understand your comment, or I just didn’t understand where you were going.

  4. Hi brother, forgot to put my name on the previous comment, totally forgot, :). I guess my point is we are not two people in a body, I’ve seen and heard of this before, our flesh is not this physical body, In Christ we only have one life, His life that He desires to incarnate, to express in and through our physical bodies. Jesus had a physical body when He was on this earth but did not sin. When someone asks us a question like that, e.g. “how are you doing?” they are not asking about sometime during the week but how are you right now. If you are hurt, depressed, tired, or what have you, be up front and say so. Paul said “when I am weak He is strong” there is nothing wrong with sharing our weaknesses, it’s part of being humble. In your statement “I am depressed because of my natural circumstances” the thought that comes to mind is that the devil wants us to focus on the flesh, giving us guilt trips and therefore keeping us in a bondage of depression when Christ has taken our flesh and nailed to the cross, and by the way the devil’s power was also removed at the same time. I get depressed, hurt, tired, etc as well from time to time then I realize that Christ took that also and He gives me His peace and rest. Some thoughts brother. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

