Being Washed By Christ

Showerhead

“You shall anoint the laver and its stand, and consecrate it. Then you shall bring Aaron and his sons to the doorway of the tent of meeting and wash them with water.” – [Exd 40:11-12 NASB]

Today, like most other days, I went to work.

I went out into the world and I got dirty.

Have you had this experience? I am sure that you have. I work outside, so I get dirty everyday.

I shower in the morning, before I go to work. Then, I need a shower when I get home, because I stink. I smell like the world that I have spent eight hours in.

You can’t be in this world without getting dirty. This is true physically, as well as spiritually.

We need to be washed by the Lord. We must take Christ as our Shower. I am not talking about being washed by His blood, although we do need that for our sins. Instead, I am talking about being washed by Christ as the Water to cleanse us of death, of uncleanness.

We live in a world of dust and death. I am certain that each of us touches something of death each day.

We need to turn to the Lord throughout the day to wash us and bring us back to the freshness of His Life.

We see that Christ wants to wash our feet by His Spirit, in the New Testament.

Jesus said to him, “He who has bathed needs only to wash his feet, but is completely clean; and you are clean, but not all of you.” – [Jhn 13:10 NASB]

Why was it so important for Jesus to wash the disciples’ feet? Our feet are the only part of us that must be in contact with the world. He wants to cleanse us of that dust that we pick up while in the world. We were made from dust, but God has made us into living stones. He is not satisfied with us as just living stones, He is forming us into precious stones, without dust and without blemish.

But, we are living stones that are being built together into as House for our Father. So, we must wash each others’ feet.

“If I then, the Lord and the Teacher, washed your feet, you also ought to wash one another’s feet. “For I gave you an example that you also should do as I did to you. – [Jhn 13:14-15 NASB]

Christ wants to cleanse us through each other. When we gather together, we wash each others’ feet by the Spirit, renewing each other to spiritual freshness.

Praise God! Christ is the reality of our showers.

 

Related articles
Posted on February 23, 2012, in Exhortation, Jesus Outside the Four Gospels, Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

