What’s Wrong With Being Naked?

Human body, upper part, front. Model:Mikael Hä...

Human body, upper part, front. Model:Mikael Häggström. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Then the eyes of both of them were opened, and they knew that they were naked; and they sewed fig leaves together and made themselves loin coverings. – [Gen 3:7 NASB]

The shamefulness of our nakedness begins early on in Scripture and it continues throughout the entire Bible.

‘And you shall not go up by steps to My altar, so that your nakedness will not be exposed on it.’ – [Exd 20:26 NASB]

‘Because you say, “I am rich, and have become wealthy, and have need of nothing,” and you do not know that you are wretched and miserable and poor and blind and naked, – [Rev 3:17 NASB]

Our nakedness was not a problem before the fall. We were innocent. When we ate from the Tree of Knowledge of Good and Evil, that changed.

Do you understand what happened in the Garden of Eden? We ate from that Tree of Death and joined in Satan’s rebellion. Adam and Eve were empty vessels, designed to be filled with God’s eternal Life. Instead, we took the Satanic nature into our flesh and thus, our nakedness became something shameful.

And He said, “Who told you that you were naked? Have you eaten from the tree of which I commanded you not to eat?” The man said, “The woman whom You gave to be with me, she gave me from the tree, and I ate.” – [Gen 3:11-12 NASB]

The bodies, made for God’s glory, became bodies of humiliation. Our flesh became the expression of Satan; our flesh became the enlargement of Satan. This is quite clear in Paul’s writings where Sin in our flesh is personified.

For we know that the Law is spiritual, but I am of flesh, sold into bondage to sin. For what I am doing, I do not understand; for I am not practicing what I would like to do, but I am doing the very thing I hate. But if I do the very thing I do not want to do, I agree with the Law, confessing that the Law is good. So now, no longer am I the one doing it, but sin which dwells in me. For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh; for the willing is present in me, but the doing of the good is not. For the good that I want, I do not do, but I practice the very evil that I do not want. But if I am doing the very thing I do not want, I am no longer the one doing it, but sin which dwells in me. I find then the principle that evil is present in me, the one who wants to do good. For I joyfully concur with the law of God in the inner man, but I see a different law in the members of my body, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin which is in my members. Wretched man that I am! Who will set me free from the body of this death? – [Rom 7:14-24 NASB]

What a burden these bodies of humiliation are to us!

For indeed in this house we groan, longing to be clothed with our dwelling from heaven, inasmuch as we, having put it on, will not be found naked. For indeed while we are in this tent, we groan, being burdened, because we do not want to be unclothed but to be clothed, so that what is mortal will be swallowed up by life. – [2Cr 5:2-4 NASB]

So what is God’s answer to our nakedness? From the very beginning, He clothed us. In the Garden of Eden, God killed an animal and clothed Adam and Eve with its skin. This animal was a type of Christ, who would die because of our nakedness so that He could clothe us!

The LORD God made garments of skin for Adam and his wife, and clothed them. – [Gen 3:21 NASB]

‘He who overcomes will thus be clothed in white garments; and I will not erase his name from the book of life, and I will confess his name before My Father and before His angels. – [Rev 3:5 NASB]

I advise you to buy from Me gold refined by fire so that you may become rich, and white garments so that you may clothe yourself, and that the shame of your nakedness will not be revealed; and eye salve to anoint your eyes so that you may see. – [Rev 3:18 NASB]

and put on the new self, which in the likeness of God has been created in righteousness and holiness of the truth. – [Eph 4:24 NASB]

that, in reference to your former manner of life, you lay aside the old self, which is being corrupted in accordance with the lusts of deceit, and that you be renewed in the spirit of your mind, and put on the new self, which in the likeness of God has been created in righteousness and holiness of the truth. – [Eph 4:22-24 NASB]

Do not lie to one another, since you laid aside the old self with its evil practices, and have put on the new self who is being renewed to a true knowledge according to the image of the One who created him— – [Col 3:9-10 NASB]

Let Your priests be clothed with righteousness, And let Your godly ones sing for joy. – [Psa 132:9 NASB]

Clothed with white garments, the new self, righteousness, and I am sure you could find more. What are these things? All of these are Christ. We must be clothed with Christ. He is our White Garments, our New Self, and our Righteousness.

But what does it mean to be clothed with Christ?

To be clothed with Christ is to express Him outwardly. Instead of expressing our old sinful self(nakedness), we express Christ. Let the One who is within you, flow out and be expressed through you.

We were made to express Christ.

Someday, we will have bodies conformed to the body of His glory, but now we must be clothed with Christ, so that we express Him and our old self is not expressed. Someday, we will shed these bodies of humiliation and shame, so that we can put on bodies conformed to the glory of our Lord Jesus Christ.

For our citizenship is in heaven; whence also we wait for a Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ: who shall fashion anew the body of our humiliation, [that it may be] conformed to the body of his glory, according to the working whereby he is able even to subject all things unto himself. – [Phl 3:20-21 ASV]

Don’t glorify your body of humiliation. Don’t buy such expensive clothing for your body to wear. Don’t buy such an expensive car for your body to ride around in. Don’t buy such an expensive house for your body to live in. You may buy all kinds of excellent things, but your body still remains poor and dying.

But, you must not hate your body either. You must take care of your body, so that you may live long on the earth for the Lord.

We take care of our bodies, without glorifying them, until our bodies of glory are revealed. But, don’t you realize that your body of glory, will be according to the measure of Christ you experience in this age? Put on Christ, that in every situation you might be found in Him, and you will express Him even more brilliantly in the age to come. O Father, clothe us with Christ in glory and splendor for your eternal purpose!

Posted on May 11, 2012, in Exhortation, Jesus Outside the Four Gospels, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. when the Christ was hung at Golgotha, He was publicly shamed and naked. So now, if a brother or sister is publicly naked (by choice), does it follow that it is a shame to them? (overcoming all the temptation to moralize.)

    • Thanks for the question, Marshall! I am not sure if I am answering it properly. Let me know if I’m not. To publicly display our bodies of humiliation, is to glorify them. Whether it is moral or not is a low consideration. We must consider whether it is of Christ or not. Christ did take our shame and nakedness upon Himself, so that we could have bodies of glory. Those bodies are already ours, but we do not yet have them in our experience. We are still in these fallen bodies until we die or He returns. Why display these fallen bodies when we are looking forward to bodies expressing Christ’s glory? We display what we think is attractive and hide what we think is unattractive. These bodies are attractive to the natural eye, but to God, they must die.

Leave a Reply

