Life was a Lemon

Before getting into the my post, I want to share a great post from a brother in Christ, who I know personally. I can testify to you of seeing, hearing, and feeling Christ in this brother, so loved by God. His name is John Wilson and he blogs at JohnSWilson3. His most recent post “…SINCE WE ARE RECEIVING A KINGDOM THAT CANNOT BE SHAKEN…” is a great encouragement to all of us who are suffering.

When I was a teenager, I was trying to figure out what kind of music I liked. I looked through some of my step-dad’s CD’s to try out some of his music. I saw one that looked pretty cool called Bat Out of Hell II: Back Into Hell by Meat Loaf.

I’m not writing this post to advocate Meat Loaf’s music, but to share something of Christ. The other day I remembered one of the songs that I had listened to on Meat Loaf’s album called “Life is a Lemon and I Want My Money Back“. Here are some of the lyrics:

It’s all or nothing, and nothing’s all I ever get
Everytime I turn it on, I burn it up and burn it out

It’s a never ending attack,
Everything’s a lie and that’s a fact
Life is a lemon and I want my money back

And we’re always slipping thru the cracks
Slippin’
Then the movie’s over, fade to black
Life is a lemon and I want my money back
Back, back, back, back!

In case you don’t understand the reference to life being a lemon, a lemon is a new product that has severe defects.

Do you feel that way about life? I imagine that some of you do think that life is a lemon and some of you think that it’s peachy.

Life is a lemon…the natural life that is.

We were all born with the sinful satanic life. From our first heartbeats, our fallen human life is defective. We are not born the way that we were suppose to be. We come into this world through pain and we often leave it in pain. For many, there is more pain in this life, than happiness.

I can understand why Meat Loaf was so dissatisfied. I find no lasting satisfaction in this world either. You may find satisfaction in a person, but then, they are gone. You may find satisfaction in an object, but then, it is gone. Every slightest grip on happiness seems to slip through the cracks. In a world without hope, what can be done?

When you have a lemon car, there is nothing you can do to change that car. It wouldn’t be worth it if you could afford the necessary changes. That’s why it’s a lemon; it leaves a sour taste in your mouth.

You can’t change a lemon, you can only exchange it. My grandmother had a car that was a lemon. The company didn’t offer to fix the car for her, it offered her a new car. We all need to exchange this lemon of a life for the Life that we were meant to have.

The eternal Life of God embodied in Jesus Christ is the Life that we were made for. Adam and Eve took a different life for us, a defective life, a lemon life. But, through His sacrifice on the cross, Jesus cleared the way to the Tree of Life, that we might eat from it.

Jesus Christ is the Tree of Life.

We were branches on the Tree of the Knowledge of Good and Evil, the Tree of Death. But, we have exchanged that lemon life for God’s Life. In Christ, we have died to that Tree of Death and we have been grafted onto the Tree of Life. We are here to abide in Him and to enjoy His Life; we are here to express Him. We grow with His growth and we bear fruit with His bearing fruit.

In Christ, we are now the enlargement of the Tree of Life.

Then he showed me a river of the water of life, clear as crystal, coming from the throne of God and of the Lamb, in the middle of its street. On either side of the river was the tree of life, bearing twelve kinds of fruit, yielding its fruit every month; and the leaves of the tree were for the healing of the nations. – [Rev 22:1-2 NASB]

Posted on June 29, 2012, in Exhortation, Jesus Outside the Four Gospels, Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. You are right brother! We are not living the life that was intended for us thanks to the fall of our mother and father, Adam and Eve. But because we have now the opportunity to live that life with Jesus Christ through the grace of God. We are saved and will be caught up to go to heaven when the Lord returns one day. Ephesians 2:8-9, 1 thess. 4:16-17.

  2. thanks so much brother for the kind words, you are a blessing to me. Thought these words were spot on: “You can’t change a lemon, you can only exchange it.” Wow!, Isn’t that true, great words brother! Yes, may we express Him together our new life.

    • It was my pleasure, brother. Thank you so much for your encouraging comment. Sorry my response took so long, your comment ended up in the spam filter for some reason.

  3. bobbyjonewell

    Love this example, thanks for sharing. While I am not currently involved in any formal type of gathering I enjoy knowing I am still in Christ day to day, sharing Him at work and where He opens the door, these writings help encourage me!

    • It pleases my heart, BobbyJo, that the Lord can encourage you with something that I write. Thank you so much for commenting! I pray that you find a gathering of brothers and sisters where you can be built together into a place of rest for God.

  4. What is love? is a question asked by theologians, philosophers and ethicists; by romantic poets and adolescents; by betrayed spouses and abandoned children; by the hope ful and the hopeless; by the dreamy-eyed and the cynical. Answers to the question are many. And, sadly enough, many of the answers betray a hard-edged cynicism. The familiar folk song “Lemon Tree” has a father giving his son this advice: “Don’t put your faith in love, my boy. . . . I fear you’ll find that love is like the lovely lemon tree . . . very pretty, and the lemon flower is sweet, but the fruit of the poor lemon is impossible to eat.” In short, dream about love, sing about it, write about it–but avoid it, for it does not bring hope and joy, only hopelessness and bitterness.

    • Thank you for the comment. The only love that does bring hope and joy is a Person; Jesus Christ is our Love, our Hope, and our Joy.

Leave a Reply

